7 Books to Consider

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.”
― Cicero

Have you ever walked into a bookstore and wandered the sections? I am going to assume yes. In fact, I do so on a regular basis, I love books. I love reading. So, when I have the time, I go for a walk around the local bookshop. I like to browse the psychology section which is rather close to the self-help section (which I also browse) and I have never once seen someone walk into that section. It’s like people think that if they check out self-help books they have a shameful problem and are admitting it to the world by wandering into the self-help isle. They should really change the name of the section to something less intimidating, something that would make the average person more comfortable.

I believe that reading “self-help” books can be a wonderful thing. Why should someone be ashamed to pick up a book that would help them grow and improve themselves, or one that they feel like reading for interest or insight? That’s right, they shouldn’t! I sure am not. I have picked up quite a few books from the dreaded section as well as the psychology section. Actually…now that I think about it, they should honestly just clump the so called “self-help” and psych section together.

Top 7 Books I find interesting and helpful: 

Focus: The Hidden Driver of Excellence by Daniel Goldeman

  • This book is fantastic. It’s not simply a book that tells you what you should do to be successful. It’s a book that gives insight into focusing on the things that matter and helps you develop your attention skills. The language is very clear &  it’s a joy to read. Definitely worth your time.

Feeling Good: The New Mood Therapy by David D. Burns

  • I did not think I would find this book useful in any way. When I picked it up, all I thought was “this is probably some more hooplah about mind over matter”. It really isn’t what I thought it would be. I guess this is literally a time where I shouldn’t of judged a book by its cover haha! I would recommend this book to anyone — even if you aren’t in need of mood therapy, this book is quite interesting and I am sure can give you a little (or a lot) to think about.

How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie

  • A classic! I read this book when I finished high school, then again a few years later. I think that if you only read one book on my list you should read this one. It’s a great tool in learning how to deal with people in different situations, conducting yourself properly, as well as improving your interpersonal skills. Just an awesome read.

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey

  • At first I thought only douchebags (pardon my French) read this book. At first glance this was the type of book that I thought was only made to make the author money by selling a shiny cover and a catchy title. Finally, I decided that I really have to see what the hype is all about. I got an Ebook version and boy am I glad that I decided to give it a shot! I gained quite a bit from reading this book. The content made me think and re-evaluate a lot of things in my attitudes and habits.

Awaken the Giant Within by Anthony Robbins 

  • Okay! So, this book was not a book I expected to like — sort of like the situation with “The 7 Habits” book. In fact, I thought there wasn’t enough vomit in the world. I thought it was a pumped up gimmick…I was pretty darn skeptical. But, I was so very wrong. It wasn’t a lame book by any means. In my opinion this book is a worthy read and excellent for getting motivated and improving your confidence.

The 3 Secrets to Effective Time Investment by Elizabeth Grace Saunders

  • Simple, useful suggestions that really work. There never seems to be enough hours in the day to squeeze in everything we’d like. I quite enjoy reading things that make sense and are straight forward yet effective and this book definitely falls into that category. Great advice on time-management and investing that time into the right things.

The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle

  • If you’re anything like me and you think about things (some that haven’t even happened yet) and worry or if your thoughts like to make a lot of noise and cause you anxiety or stress…try this book out. Honestly, a great lesson in quieting your mind and learning to enjoy the moment.

So next time you are browsing your local bookshop…brave the isle that contains these books and give one of them a shot. Or maybe you will find something else you like in there! Never know!

I’d love to hear some reading suggestions you guys may have, so please leave me a comment if you have anything to recommend or want to tell me about your experiences with “self-help” books. Either way, I really enjoy hearing from my lovely readers — don’t be shy!

Leave a Reply

