>Grunt<

Watermelon – it’s a good fruit. You eat, you drink, you wash your face.
– Enrico Caruso

It has been ages since I posted anything. I know, guilty…sorry everyone! I really should be more consistent with this blogging deal, I am well aware of this; unfortunately I just get so tied up with school work every time I am on the computer. There have been many days where I log on to check my e-mail and then end up with a feeling that I want to get on WordPress and blog till my fingers go blue. Then I realize I have a project due or assignments to get going on or exam prep that needs my attention and I just put it off until a better day *sad face*. However, I will do my best to be as diligent as possible!

Now, back to bidness…plug your nose and say business…see! Yes…

A couple weeks ago my beloved man was feeling very unwell and I decided that I would kick whatever-it-is right in the butt. The reason I mention this is that I have a way of getting rid of feeling like anus – in fact, I have quite a few tricks on how to get rid of numerous types of ailments. The particular illness-busting remedy I used with my man got him feeling much better the following day – yippee! Wanna know what it is? Of course ya do! ‘Tis flu season after all.

garfield__s_morning_coffee_by_czlowieczek-d327d9s

Feeling Poopy Remedy:

1) Tonic water + fresh squeezed OJ (from a real orange, people! None of that store-bought juice crap). Very refreshing and also good for you. Drink several large glasses of that throughout the day.

2) Fresh chicken-noodle soup. Use fresh made chicken stock to make the soup (recipe bellow for soup and stock) and make sure you eat it while it is still hot. A bowl for dinner and a bowl later if you still feel hungry. It ain’t for no reason grandmama and/or mom keep pushing this soup on you when you are under the weather…there is some magic in a well prepared chicken-noodle soup made with love *aww*.

3) Hot ginger-lemon-honey water. I’m sure I have mentioned this concoction to you guys before, but this is simply good for any occasion. All you gotta do is grate 3 full table spoons of ginger to about 4 cups of water, slice up half of a lemon and toss that into the water. Bring the mixture up to a boil, remove from heat and let steep for 5 or so minutes. Stir in 1.5 tablespoons of honey (or to taste). Drink this hot 3 times throughout the day (afternoon, after dinner, before bed).

4) Take it easy. Rest, relax, watch re-runs of your favorite show, read, knit, or marathon movies, whatever you want as long as you are not doing much moving about.

5) Take a shower (not too hot) before dinner and snuggle up with blankets on the couch with your soup. Life Hack: if you pull the blankets over your head, you are now invisible and can avoid adulting for the day.

6) Garlic. In the chicken soup…lots of it. If you want to brave the raw stuff be my guest but I think most of us prefer not to.

7) Surround yourself with what makes you happy: people (who aren’t worried about catching your ailment), pets, people and pets, movies/TV shows, books, fuzzy socks…whatever it is. Positive emotions are a must.

8) Go to sleep early after drinking your hot mug of ginger-lemon-honey water.

It seems very simple, but if executed correctly this really does the trick for getting you better. I have no idea how this combination of activities and foods/drinks works but I have helped my parents, myself, and now my man with this exact routine.

The Magic Chicken-Noodle Soup:

homemade-chicken-noodle-soup

  • carrots,chopped
  • onion, chopped finely
  • garlic cloves, minced or pressed through garlic crusher
  • whole black peppercorns
  • bay leaves
  • celery, chopped
  • salt to taste
  • whole cloves
  • fresh tomato, chopped
  • egg noodles (cooked separately and drained)
  • cooked chicken, chopped
  • cilantro
  • ginger, chopped into large chunks

On medium heat, saute your onions, celery, & carrots with a little bit of grape seed oil until the onion becomes translucent but not browned. Pour in your chicken stock (recipe follows) and a little bit of water (2/3 stock to 1/3 water). Bring everything to a boil, add whole peppercorns, whole cloves, ginger and bay leaves. Cook on a slow boil until veggies are tender, then turn down the heat to a simmer and toss in your tomatoes, cilantro and garlic. Let soup simmer for 15 minutes, then add your chicken, keep the simmer going for another 5 minutes or until chicken is heated through.

Meanwhile cook your egg noodles in a separate pot, strain, and set aside.

Place some egg noodles into a bowl and ladle your chicken soup over the noodles. Serve and eat right away.

Chicken Stock:

chicken stock

  • a couple of pounds of chicken bones (depending on amount of stock wanted)
  • chicken neck
  • onion
  • celery
  • carrots
  • good amount of fresh ground black pepper
  • salt to taste
  • parsley
  • garlic, roughly chopped
  • pinch or two of turmeric (many health benefits!)

You get the most flavor out of chicken bones by browning them in a roasting pan in a 400°F oven first. Once the bones are brown, transfer them to your stock pot. Fill the pot with water to fully cover the bones. Add chicken neck, your veggies (which should all be chopped in rather large chunks so they don’t entirely break down while cooking), parsley and garlic, turmeric, salt, and freshly ground black pepper. Give all of that a good stir. Simmer the stock gently, do not boil, for at least 2 hours (longer if possible). The liquid should be visibly moving but no bubbles should be seen. About half way through the cooking time skim the surface of your stock if you see any fat or other particles rising to the top. Repeat the skimming process if necessary. When stock has turned a deep golden color and the flavors are well infused, take it off the heat and strain into another stockpot.

You may notice I have not given quantities for ingredients in the soup or the stock…that is because it all depends on the amount you want to make. I personally never took any specific measurements of how many bones I have or how much celery/carrots I have. Just make sure you add a good amount of everything so that there is not too little or too much of any single ingredient. Balance of flavors is all that matters. If you like more celery add a lot of it, if you want less add less… it is all up to your preferences and tastes. The important things are the process and cooking time.

Enjoy your rockin’ stock and chicken-noodle soup!

One thought on “>Grunt<

Leave a Reply

