Warm and Spicy

I will not let anyone walk through my mind with their dirty feet.

Mahatma Gandhi

There are some foods that are perfect to curl up with on a weekend while watching your favorite TV show/movie. Here is where chickpea curry comes in, as it is probably my favorite type of vegetable curry and it is a great comfort food dish. I actually made a chickpea curry for my love and I one day and he really enjoyed it. In fact, I think it was the tastiest chickpea curry I have ever made. Unfortunately, when I wanted to make it again I couldn’t remember what went into it *grumble*! I have made several versions of this curry and the version I liked best escaped my mind – poop.

*fast forward a couple of weeks*

Today, I finally found the recipe written on a small piece of paper in a cookbook! Though I didn’t make it tonight, I decided to share this recipe with you guys! Also, there are no photos of this available (as I haven’t made it for a while)…but you can believe me when I say it not only looks nice piled on top of some coconut rice, it also tastes super yummy.

Comfort Chickpea Curry

  • ~1/2 can crushed tomatoes (or 1.5 cups)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 large onion
  • 2 tbsp fresh grated ginger
  • 1 tsp fresh jalapenos (optional)
  • 1/2 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp dried green fenugreek leaves or 1/2 cup finely chopped cilantro
  • 4 cups cooked (or canned) chickpeas
  • 2 cups water
  • Oil of choice for cooking
  1. Heat oil in a deep skillet or a pot on medium-high heat. Once the skillet is hot add onion and garlic and saute until the onion is slightly browned. Stir in the ginger and jalapeno (if using), cook stirring frequently for a couple minutes.
  2. Then add in your crushed tomatoes, spices, and mix all of that until thoroughly combined. Cook for about five minutes. Next, add the chickpeas and the water, stir it all together and bring just to a boil. Cover and reduce heat to low; simmer for about ten minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. Once the curry has cooked, stir in the fenugreek or cilantro and let the curry stand for about 20 minutes before serving.

The Coconut Rice

  • 2 cups jasmine rice (white)
  • 1 cup coconut milk (full fat)
  • 2.5 cups water
  1. Bring the water and coconut milk to a simmer in a medium pot, add the rice. Turn the heat down to low, cover the rice with a lid. Let it simmer on low for around 15-20 minutes. Don’t stir the rice or uncover it until the 15 minute mark.
  2. Turn off the heat and let the rice cool for about 5 minutes.
  3. Uncover the lid, fluff the rice and serve.

Final step: Pile the rice onto the center of a big plate or bowl, ladle the chickpea curry over top. Dig in!

poster_16x24_v2_juliachild1

3 thoughts on “Warm and Spicy

Leave a Reply

