Sweet Kale + My Brunch

Costco! Can we please talk about how utterly magnificent of a place it is?! I don’t know about you guys, but there are things that I will never again buy in any other place except Costco. I went there for my laptop and for my new camera – their return policy and warranty can’t be beat.

Oh, and who can forget the masses of food they have! Aisle after aisle of glorious food. I buy all of my juicing ingredients from there. You know what? It is safe to say I get just about all my groceries there. The few foods I do not get from Costco are yogurt (I would never be able to finish the amount they sell before the expiry date), milk (because I can only drink a certain type of organic whole milk), and eggs (I buy organic free-range from a local farm).

While we are on the subject of food…I found an amazing salad during my last trip. It’s a kale salad that comes with two packets of poppy seed dressing as well as pumpkin seeds and dried cranberries. I actually picked it up for my mom because that’s absolutely her style of salad. She insisted I try it and I actually really liked the salad! I was pleasantly surprised because I am not exactly a salad person – especially not a fan of salads with fruits or nuts. Anyway, the salad I speak of and definitely recommend is the Sweet Kale Vegetable Salad Kit. I even had it as a snack today, look:

IMG_0083Doesn’t that look delicious?

And guess what this girl *points to self* had for brunch today. That’s right! It was a sunny-side-up egg which I wrote about the other day. This time, I made some avocado spread and spread that onto a piece of bread and plopped the egg on top of that. It was fantastic…and this time, I have a photo for you guys 🙂

IMG_0064Easy Avocado Spread:

All you need is one large ripe avocado, a wedge of a lemon, salt, pepper, and a splash of grape seed oil (or any other oil you prefer). Mash it all together with a fork in a bowl and spread it on a piece of bread.

You can also see my tea there because I drink tea all the time, regardless of the meal or time of day haha. I think I was drinking English breakfast. I tend to put a slice of lemon and some honey in most non-fruity/flavored black teas; I don’t really enjoy plain black tea very much. I either buy floral or fruity black teas. I think I mentioned many teas in some of my previous posts, but I have a tea called The Earl’s Garden from David’s Tea and it is the perfect balance of fruity and floral.

A cup of tea would restore my normality.

– Douglas Adams

Since I am opening up my taste buds to new things, I thought I would ask you guys for some salad recommendations (just a note: I really dislike regular lettuce, I do like Romaine, though). So, if you have any favorite salads that you think I should try, leave a comment bellow!

5 thoughts on “Sweet Kale + My Brunch

Leave a Reply

