Cinco De Mayo!

Hello my lovely readers! Hoooly doodle! I have been absent for quite some time – apologies! Let me update you on what’s been happening in the life of Lana:

For all of April I was entirely swamped with school related business. Turning in massive essays, finishing a colossal project, studying for final exams, etc. BUT, on the same day that I finished my last final exam, I was off to Mexico for a week with my honey and we just got back this Saturday night. We missed Cinco De Mayo in Mexico, but since it is tomorrow I thought what a perfect time to up date you guys and talk about my trip!

It was an absolutely amazing experience. It was my first time in Mexico, it was also my first time snorkeling & eating fresh, authentic Mexican tacos (which have ruined me for any other taco, ever). I didn’t get much of a tan, though haha– slathered myself with sunscreen to avoid burning, but I guess you could say I am less pale than when I left.

My darling was so wonderful about teaching me how to snorkel. After about 10 minutes of me learning that breathing underwater is possible and getting used to the mask, he took me out to deeper waters and we saw a turtle! This was a top priority for us – achievement unlocked! We also spotted two sting rays (small ones) and some fish. It was a blast! I am very grateful that he introduced me to this experience. Now I want more!

The hotel we stayed at was very nice – it consisted of a few separate parts: two hotel areas with separate lobbies, restaurants and pools, as well as an entertainment area with a little market and a couple of bars (all on the hotel property, it was massive). We also went out to Playa Del Carmen and explored the city; we found several cool things to bring home, took a few photos. It was a fantastic time! In fact, Playa Del Carmen is where I was introduced to the tacos. We found a little taco place on the corner of a street one night and we actually went back out the next day to get more of them (even though it was an hour or so ride into town)! But then again, oh my absolute goodness, guys…I am never going to be able to fully enjoy any other tacos until we go back to Mexico (I’m sure honey feels the same). There are so many memories and exciting events, I wish I could just upload a “Mexico 2015” file from my brain and share it here haha! I could spend too long writing about the trip, but I will leave it short and sweet. I can’t imagine a more perfect way for us both to unwind and have some wonderful, fun quality time together. Everything about this trip left me glowing with happiness!

IMG_0195That’s them tacos.

I will include a few recipes of things I thoroughly enjoyed (except the taco recipe…that cannot be duplicated).

The Guacamole:

  • 4 avocado
  • 1 medium tomato, diced
  • 1/4 cup onion, finely diced
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/8 cup cilantro leaves, chopped
  • 1 serrano pepper, seeded and minced (you can adjust the heat level by either omitting the serrano, or adding less of it)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh squeezed lime juice
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Mash two of the four avocados. Add in the onion, serrano pepper (if using), and cilantro. Mix in the sour cream. Add salt and pepper to taste. Dice the remaining two avocados into 1/2 inch cubes. Fold the diced avocado and tomato into the mashed avocado mix. Serve immediately with tortilla chips.

The Virgin Mojito:

  • Crushed ice
  • Sprite
  • 8-10 sprigs of mint
  • 1 lime (but reserve a couple slices before juicing)
  • 2 teaspoons raw sugar

In a glass, break mint leaves with hands and add the sugar. Muddle with a spoon. Squeeze in lime juice and add a couple slices of lime. Add crushed ice. Fill the glass with chilled sprite.

*This was my favorite drink there – it quenches the thirst and is very refreshing*

The Churro:

  • 1 cup water
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 quarts oil for frying
  • 1/2 cup white sugar, or less if you like
  • 5 teaspoons ground cinnamon

In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine water, 2 1/2 tablespoons sugar, salt, and 2 tablespoons veg oil. Bring mixture to a boil and then remove from heat. Add the flour, stirring very well, until the mixture forms a ball.

Heat oil for frying in a deep-fryer or deep skillet to 375 F. Pipe strips of churro dough into the hot oil using a pastry bag. Fry until golden brown and drain on paper towels.

Combine the 1/2 cup sugar (or less) and cinnamon. Roll drained churros in cinnamon and sugar mix while still hot.

Devour.

*Fun Fact* Cinco De Mayo is not Mexico’s independence day, contrary to popular belief. It is actually a day of celebration dedicated to the victory at the Battle of Puebla during the Franco-Mexican war.

3 thoughts on “Cinco De Mayo!

Leave a Reply

