Meow

Hi! It’s me, Bailey! My furless human momma already wrote a post about me a while back; but, when I learned that her friend (Lulu) let the voice of her furbaby on the blog, I immediately decided that I deserve that too! So, here I am! *purr*

Meow

Meow

I was born on the last week of March 2011 (I don’t know my own birthday, but Lana always celebrates it on the 30th). My biological cat mom (a purebred Maine Coon) was a little irresponsible and had a one-night stand with a tom cat in the neighbourhood. Her little furry jelly beans (that’s me and my siblings) were not a pleasant surprise to my cat mom’s caregivers. They were in the middle of renovating the entire house and then we happened. So, my cat mom had to let go of us at a rather early age. When my human momma came along I was only 5 weeks old! We were going to be given to a shelter when we turned 7 weeks…boy, did Lana come just in time! She also organized some of her friends to adopt my siblings. We all went to good homes, but I like to think I was the luckiest.

My car ride home!

My car ride home!

According to momma Lana, it was love at first sight. I can vouch for that. When she picked me up for the first time, I instantly clung to her and nestled myself into her neck. I was home *purr purr puurrrr*.

Me: Still in furry jelly bean state

Me: Still in furry jelly bean state

Being a Maine Coon cross is neat! I look just like a Maine Coon, my vet says I took most of the genetics from the Maine Coon side. I am very pleased with that. I am a larger cat, pretty long body and a big bushy tail! Lana likes it when I trill and chirp and make different noises (as my breed usually doesn’t meow like a normal cat, though sometimes I do – must be my biological father’s trait).

When I arrived at my new home, I was not allowed out of Lana’s room. Why? She already had another (muuuch older) cat, Alice. It’s okay – I liked being roomies with her. Alice and I did not get along well for the first few months. I was scared I would be given away. But, Lana didn’t let that happen. She slowly introduced us and made sure we learned how to be friends. As a lively kitten, I wanted to do was jump around, climb behind the TV, run around with toys, and play with Alice…but she was not a fan of that idea. She can be a grouch! Alice is 18 now, so I guess being grouchy when I pounce on her to play is justified.

That's Alice and I, after we became friends

That’s Alice and I, after we became friends

As I grew older my shenanigans grew with me. I was always a very happy and energetic cat. Even though I am now 4 years old, I still like to jump behind the TV and sit there making noises to get Lana’s attention. Sometimes I hide under the dining table and pounce out at her legs. She chases me around and then gives me bear hugs. I like bear hugs. I am a very affectionate cat. I hear Lana describe me sometimes and she likes to say I am more of a dog than a cat at times! I don’t know what a dog is like, but she says it’s a very good thing to be like one. I like to spend a lot of time with my human momma, even when we don’t do much except loung around.

I liked to listen to Lana's heartbeat as I slept when I was a kitten

I liked to listen to Lana’s heartbeat as I slept when I was a kitten

When I was still very young, my momma broke 5 bones in her foot! Poor Lana, she was told not to move her leg/foot for 1 whole month or else she would need surgery and metal bolts. Yikes! That meant she was pretty much stuck either sitting or laying down (according to surgeon, laying flat was prefered). Don’t worry, I stayed by her side the entire time! We watched TV together, relaxed together, even ate at the same time; and when I got bored I played around on the floor with my toys – I can be very goofy and that seemed to cheer my Lana up! She had an air cast boot – it scared me the first time I saw her crutch her way into the house, but I got used to it quickly. I made sure she wasn’t lonely while she was unable to do human things.

I make better with love

I make better with love

TV watching was a regular thing for us (still is!)

TV watching was a regular thing for us (still is!)

When Lana sleeps for too long (isn’t up between 6 and 8 for classes), I climb into bed with her and snuggle until she is ready to wake up. But first I always try to nudge her awake to make sure she isn’t forgetting anything important like class or plans or feeding me…though I always understand when she wants to sleep, so I just have a snooze alongside her. Sometimes, I like to groom her. Especially when she wears her hair in a bun – I need to make sure my human is clean and well kempt. I take good care of her.

ZzZZzz

ZzZZzz

She can’t take showers or brush her teeth or cook or be in a room without me. I miss her when she’s not around (like in school or busy doing other human things), so I always stick by her side when she is home. My favorite place, now that is very hot, is her dresser in the closet. She points a fan in my direction so that I get some cool air and the shade in there helps me get away from the heat. I am a spoiled little kitty. But I think I spoil her too – as much as a cat could. When she is sad, I lick the tears off her cheeks. When she is lazy I like to be lazy with her. When she is happy I like to play chase/fetch with her and my mouse toy. My favorite toy of all, though, is a tin foil ball! Ever since I was a kitten Lana would distract me from getting into trouble by making me a tinfoil ball. The crinkling of the tin foil still gets me excited every time I hear it. Sometimes she is just making dinner and uses the foil, so I run into the kitchen very excitedly, only to find she is lining a pan. Grr!

Did I mention I was a spoiled kitty? I am. Ever since I came home with Lana, she has raised me on healthy food and made sure I had plenty of play and excersize. I am not allowed outdoors – but she makes sure I have a lot of indoor fun! I gave her a hard time as I was growing up; I escaped 3 times and made human momma very sad and scared. The first time I was too shocked to go very far, but the second time I went further, and third time I ran and hid pretty far from home. When I heard Lana calling my name searching for me, though, I ran back to her and didn’t refuse to be taken back inside. As I got older, I stopped wanting to escape (I think that makes Lana very happy). I like to sit and watch the garden through the window now!

I am very glad to be my human momma’s kitty.

I like to play!

I like to play!

My first cat tree!

My first cat tree!

And I like to participate in every activity. I help wrap presents on Christmas!

Surprise!

Surprise!

I also really like to snuggle…did I mention that?

Snuggles while Lana does homework!

Snuggles while Lana does homework!

I still snuggle with her meowadays but…we don’t have many photos of such events.

I am hard to catch when I am active, so Lana likes to catch me doing still activities. Such as sleeping, or sitting, or lounging. Enjoy these photos:

Dis my attempt at waking her up. That time was successful!

Dis my attempt at waking her up. That time was successful!

That thing about cats and boxes...it's true. Mine!

That thing about cats and boxes…it’s true. Mine!

Good morning!

Good morning!

I don't like it when she travels...I try to sneak in, but am always found.

I don’t like it when she travels…I try to sneak into luggage, but am always found.

I like to be cozy...and Lana's bed is first choice!

I like to be cozy and am very good at making myself just that!

Well, that’s all for meow! It was purr-tastic to meet you all!

3 thoughts on “Meow

  1. luluscribbles says:

    It was very nice to get to know Bailey! She sounds very cuddly! I wish Bambs and Bailey could be friends… I understand cats may take a while to tolerate other cats. 😻😻

Leave a Reply

