My Cup of Tea

Hello, hello!

A class that I attended today has been the most enjoyable and exciting class to date. The course is: Tea in China and Japan. It’s a history course about tea and the culture that revolves around it. And I think you all know just how much I enjoy my tea. Needless to say, this is going to be my favorite course.

tea1

The professor that teaches this course is actually a professor my fiance took classes with; in fact, that is where I got my recommendation from! The information provided and the professor’s passion for the subject creates a really good vibe in the classroom. I am extremely lucky that I was able to take this course. Joining me in this course is my bestie! My enthusiasm and interest for tea has grown exponentially after just the first day. I think this is going to be a lovely break (though still requires hard work) from my science and mathematics courses.

Onward, I think the most thrilling part of the course is that we get to do a lot of hands-on learning. We will have the opportunity to witness traditional tea ceremonies both Chinese and Japanese (our choice of which) and/or make our own tea cup with a professional. The professor also mentioned that we will be getting the chance to sample many different types of teas and he will prepare the teas for us in class with a tea ceremony. Amazing. Oh, and for the final exam…he will provide “the finest” teas for us as we write! Yaay! If you know me, you know just how much this class tickles my fancy!

Tea-Quotes-Tea-is-Water-Bewitched-Tearroir-Taiwan

Throughout my student years, I have only truly been impressed with a handful of professors. For example: a chemistry professor whom I took a class with this summer, a math professor I started with at my university, and this current professor. Now, I don’t mean that I didn’t enjoy any other professors, I had many good instructors – more good than not. However, the three I have mentioned are the people who stand out to me the most. For many reasons. The chemistry and math professors gave me the confidence to continue and not give up trying. I got my first A in math and chemistry is no longer a foreign language to me haha. I am grateful for that. My current professor has already inspired me to do well simply by being so passionate about his subject and giving us so much insanely interesting information – he seems to really want his students to get the most out of the course and have an amazing time. I was absorbed into the subject from the first minute. I thank my fiance for introducing us!

Now, it is time for me to bid you adieu and get some sleep before tomorrow’s classes. Have a good Friday everyone.

Side note: Since this post is going up on September 11th, I would like to take this time to remember the tragic events that happened on 9/11 2001. I am reaching out to the families and individuals who suffered, my heart goes out to you. I hope that one day we can all live under peaceful skies.

2 thoughts on “My Cup of Tea

Leave a Reply

