Candles and Casual Fridays

rain

“No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”
― Eleanor Roosevelt

Sitting here in my fuzzy slipper socks, listening to the rain crash against my windows and my roof, sipping on tea, of course. We have a weather warning for heavy rain until tomorrow. I’m surprised the power has stayed on; usually my street is the first to lose power in any more or less “extreme” weather – no, I don’t live in a crap area or anything, it’s just that we somehow have weak power lines (or something? I’m not quite sure). Speaking of power outages…would be nice to have a real wood fireplace for such events, or in general. I’ve always wanted a traditional fireplace with logs crackling and embers burning bright. I think a fireplace creates a great gathering place in a home – always warm, always comforting; breeds coziness. Bon fires and candles are pretty great, too. Maybe I just like being around fire? *ponders*

Candles can really transform the atmosphere of a room, don’t you think? I have acquired a new candle called Twisted Peppermint from Bath and Body Works – it is the perfect winter smell. I’ve not tried their winter collection of candles until this one! It smells to me like Christmas and snow and winter; you know, it actually smells kind of cold! I mean, the peppermint feels like it almost cools the air, does that make any sense? I hope so…I can’t really describe the scent, but it mainly smells like peppermint candy canes…with just a hint of something else kind of sweet that balances it out pretty darn well! All in all, awesome candle. I am actually surprised by how much the scent travels around the house! Quite potent, I like it. Probably in my top favorite candle smells of all time.

twisted

How adorable is this label?!

I have some major tidying to do tomorrow. I have definitely slacked on keeping everything as tidy as I normally keep it. It’s not really that my place is dirty, just a little disorganized at the moment. Chaotic might be a better term haha. My life hasn’t been much of a thrill lately…I haven’t even had time to make any delicious new recipes…or any recipes worth mentioning, to be frank! *pout* Ah well, I’ll be getting back on that boat soon. Must sit down, choose a dish or two, make a list of ingredients and go shop my socks off. Goals.

I have also started reading a book called: The Joy of Less, A Minimalist Living Guide: How to Declutter, Organize, and Simplify Your Life by Francine Jay. This book seemed like a good way to start decluttering not only my space, but also my mind. Overthinking, over analyzing, and over-braining in general has become sort of a norm for me lately. I am not at all unhappy, just makes my perception of things in my life a little more complicated than they should be haha! When I was in high school, my English teacher told our class to “KISS”. We all looked at him like he was crazy, but he quickly explained that it meant to “Keep It Simple Stupid”. Granted he was talking about a project we were supposed to hand in; though, on a tangent, he did relate the saying back to general life. As a high school student that saying meant very little to me in terms of life as a whole. Now, I completely understand what he was trying to convey.

I think we should all try to “Keep It Simple Stupid” when we can! Many of the things we think are convoluted are just our over thinking.

That about wraps it up for my little update! Happy weekend to everyone! 🙂

One thought on “Candles and Casual Fridays

Leave a Reply

