Happy Days

christmas_tree_snow_flakes-1280x800

And so this semester has come to an end. Thank goodness. Never looking back! This semester ended with a bang. Literally. I smashed my knee cap (full force) into the corner of a wall. So, I sat the rest of that night with an ice pack on my knee, sobbing in pain. I guess such a semester couldn’t end too painlessly. Haha.

To rid myself of stress and to have a fresh start for the coming new year I am spending this week doing elephantine amounts of cleaning – and will be following advice from The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up. The cleaning will also include spiritual and mental clutter as well. This week also begins the wrapping of gifts and putting up Christmas decorations!! I don’t think I have ever been more excited for Christmas than I am this year.

I never really did the whole “new year resolutions” thing, but, I will try it out this coming year. I know many people sort of scoff at the idea since the common phenomenon surrounding the notion is to list a bunch of goals and never follow through. That said, I think where many people go wrong with any kind of goal is they start too big/vague and get lost on the way (I’ve been there). So, for my “resolutions” I will be making sure to include all the little steps in order to better keep on-track and make each goal easier to begin – essentially, I will make following through with each goal more attainable. I will share my resolutions with you guys (once I figure them all out for myself) and how I plan on carrying through with them, along with background information regarding each of my goals. Maybe one of you will join me in the idea of creating new year resolutions for yourselves and in making 2016 one of your best years (as that is my aim).

On another note, I have been really enjoying the combination of peppermint and chocolate this holiday season. With my new found taste for this combination, I have been searching for the perfect at-home peppermint hot chocolate recipe. I have found one! Let me share it with you, so that you all can join in the deliciousness:

1 1/2 cups heavy cream
1 1/2 cups milk
170 grams bittersweet chocolate, chopped up
1/4 cup sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
3 drops peppermint oil (the edible kind! not the essential oil…)
Whipped cream (for garnish)

In a saucepan, combine the cream, milk, sugar, and salt and heat over medium-low heat. When the cream mixture just begins to steam, add the chopped chocolate, and stir, until melted. Stir in the peppermint oil drops. Divide the hot chocolate among mugs and top with whipped cream.

 

I will be posting festive recipes sometime soon! Keep a lookout for the recipes and my new year resolutions post 🙂

2 thoughts on “Happy Days

  1. luluscribbles says:

    I had been so busy during the holiday break (way too unfairly quick ending one, might I add!) so I didn’t notice your blog posts until now! I love that you are doing a resolution for the new year. As am I! Yay us! More to it in my posts! May your determination game be strong on that resolution list, my dear…

Leave a Reply

